I like bugs

I really liked this bug poem. I found it surprisingly challenging to do poems for kids that didn’t talk down to them but also wasn’t too challenging, and I think this poem managed to bet the balance right.

little learner

I like bugs, all of these:
Spiders, crickets, beetles, bees,
Butterpillar, caterfly,
Ants and aphids that scurry by.

Honeyroaches, cockabees,
Cutwings, laceworms on my trees,
Ladydids and katybirds,
Cicadas, moths and, oh, my word,

Swallowbugs and spittletails,
Grasshoppers and slimy snails.
I think bugs are pretty cool.
But  STAY  OUTSIDE!  is the bug rule.

napo2014button2

NaPoWriMo
Day 22

Today’s optional prompt:  write a poem for children.
I had fun.  🙂

View original post

Leave a Reply

