A middle-aged man’s playlist

I am currently feeling like an old fogey because my current playlist on my iPod is inundated with stuff that middle-aged males listen to. It makes me a sad panda. Here’s a look at my list:

Peaches – The Presidents of the United States of America
Pump It – The Black Eyed Peas
Jerk It Out – The Caesars
Higher Ground – Red Hot Chili Peppers
Take Me Out – Franz Ferdinand
Bitter Sweet Samba – Herb Alpert’s Tijuana Brass (seriously, ahead of their time)
Ambitionz Az a Ridah – 2Pac
Starstruck – Lady GaGa (I used to have far more Lady GaGa on this list, but I had to seriously pare down lest someone thing I was a teenage girl.)
Who Are You – The Who
You Really Got Me – The Kinks
Seven Nation Army – The White Stripes
Heaven – The Talking Heads (Did you see that 30 For 30 on OJ Simpson? They used this song at the end. It was PERFECT.)
Walls (Circus) – Tom Petty (My personal vote for best music video ever.)
What’s Happening!! – Henry Mancini
You’re the Best – Joe Bean Esposito
Eye of the Tiger – Survivor
Larger Than Life – Backstreet Boys (Admittedly, this one’s more likely to be found on a middle-aged woman’s playlist, but comme ci, comme ca)
Baba O’Riley – The Who
God Killed the Queen – Louis XIV
The Look of Love – ABC
Cellphone’s Dead – Beck
Loser – Beck
The Rockafeller Skank – Fatboy Slim (The one most likely to make me bust a move at my desk.)
Holy Diver – Killswitch Engage (Sorry, Dio fans… I actually do prefer this version over the original)
Lucas With the Lid Off – Lucas (What the hell happened to ragtime/hip-hop mashups? I don’t understand this world sometimes)
Never Gonna Stop – Rob Zombie
Jump – Van Halen
Eh, Eh (Nothing Else I Can Say) – Lady GaGa
The New Pollution – Beck
Long Hard Times to Come – Gangstagrass
Mama Said Knock You Out – LL Cool J (Seriously, if I could make any song my personal anthem, it would be this one)
U Can’t Touch This – MC Hammer (Gives me more nostalgic delirium tremens than any song on this list)
Hawaii Five-O – The Ventures
Toxic – Glee Cast (Again, middle-aged woman list, but I CANNOT TELL A LIE)
Delirious – Prince
Let’s Go Crazy – Prince
Take On Me – a-ha
I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) – The Proclaimers

And, perhaps the number one song on every middle-aged man’s playlist, NO QUESTIONS ASKED…

Don’t Stop Believin’ – Journey

You can ask for no better list whilst rollin’ in ya Chrysler Sebring pickin’ up some grocery for dinner tonight, homes.

Leave a Reply

