Animated Fridays: Shockwave’s Lament

I’m changing the title of the feature because I wanted to showcase things other than just something that’s a music video. Trust me: I’m an AMV junkie, but some of the best mash-ups I’ve seen aren’t exclusive to scoring animation clips to music.

This video, “Shockwave’s Lament,” is almost a year old, but it cracks me up every time I watch it. It was created by Dr. Smoov. He famously created the equally humorous “The Rude Awakening of Optimus Prime,” the one where Optimus is a complete jack-hole to all the Season 3 Autobots. He also has created several other entries, his latest being the Soundwave-centric AMV called “Decepticons Superior.”

However, I think that “Shockwave’s Lament” may be his best work. It’s probably the most accessible video for non-fans; previous knowledge of Transformers history isn’t necessary. All you need to know is that Shockwave can’t shoot with sh*t. Dr. Smoov does a great job with all the voices (and does a spot on imitation of Frank Welker’s Starscream voice); it’s so well done that they may as well be the original voices of the cartoon characters. Oh, and there’s a cameo appearance by the Female Autobots, a bonus.

The hell of it all is that I watched a few old Transformers episodes with Shockwave, that lovable faceless wonder, and he does strikes me as really being this pathetic. Anyway, enjoy!


NOTE: The video clip contains quite a lot of profanity, but nothing you wouldn’t see in a PG-13 movie.

2 thoughts on “Animated Fridays: Shockwave’s Lament

  1. When I was little, I used to really like Shockwave because of his cool head and businesslike attitude, and somehow it completely passed me by what a spazz he was.

    The guy has a gun on his left arm, instead of any other tool, like, say, a hand that could hold a gun.

    That means that whoever built him assumed he would spend so much time shooting things that saving the extra few tenths of a second it takes to pick up a gun and pull the trigger would be more important then the extra few hours it takes to do things with only one hand.

    In other words, the whole point of his existence is that he does nothing besides shoot things all day and night.

    And yet the poor bastard can’t hit the broad side of a barn.

    I feel kind of bad for him.

    It’s also funny that he just surrenders to the Dinobots in the video, because in the original Marvel comics he was introduced as the Decepticon answer to the Dinobots, and spent his time kicking their asses all over the age of dinosaurs without help from anybody else.

  2. Everytime I watch this, I sorta want to hug Shockwave. Such a sad guy. 😉

    I’ve never read the comics, but I’ve heard a lot of good things about it. Was Shockwave stalking the Dinobots on prehistoric Earth, or was he their nemesis on Cybertron? Interseting take on Shockwave, nevertheless.

Leave a Reply

